Why am I suddenly glitching?

Eva-Wilhelm wrote on 3/9/2022, 4:30 PM

I am an audiobook narrator (record at 44,100; 16 bit; mono) and I got a new Dell XPS laptop in January to replace my elderly Asus. Since then, I've been having issues with glitches appearing seemingly randomly in my recordings. I never realize that it's happening when I'm recording--it sounds fine in my headphones--but when it goes through QC, the person who listens to the whole book is finding them. My new computer is running Windows 11. The glitches have happened in both Sound Forge Audio Studio and Sound Forge Pro 15. This never happened to me even once before, and I've been recording for ten years now, so I know it's something about the new laptop, but I can't figure it out! Originally I thought it was because I was accidentally recording to the cloud when I first got the new computer set up, but I changed it to record it to the C drive instead, and that didn't help. I use a Roland Quad Capture interface with my mic, and I've changed the buffer on the Quad Capture to 10, which also didn't solve it. I was using a USB hub (the Dell has no USB ports--only thunderbolt--so I had both my interface and my mouse dongle connected into a USB hub, which then plugged into one of the thunderbolt ports), but I stopped using the hub, got a bluetooth mouse, and am now just using a USB/thunderbolt converter for the interface cord, and that didn't help. I'm at my wits' end. I'm about to try replacing the cord that runs between my interface and my laptop, but that seems like a stretch. I don't want to also have to replace my interface, which I suppose would be my next step, unless I know that it's actually the problem. Can anyone suggest anything? I'm tearing out my hair!

EDITED TO ADD: I've uploaded an mp3 of four glitches happening in a row, and a screenshot of the wave form. (The glitch is right before the marker. It's actually not super-easy to see.)

Comments

Walter.I wrote on 3/10/2022, 2:36 AM