Where is the Tempo (BPM) stored in an MP3 file?

Stoli wrote on 12/29/2021, 7:03 PM

I've been using Acid since 2000, but I use it strictly for creating multi-track DJ mixes of existing tracks (I don't produce any original music)... so I only use mp3 since it's the universal format to acquire tracks. I know Acid stores the Beatmap information with the file, but I'd like to know where, specifically. I've tried a couple different ID3 tag editors, but the BPM is not listed anywhere. I know some apps create their own tag and store it within a file, so I'm wondering if that is what Acid does. If so, can this be read by any software? I searched the KB and the Internet for the Acid Pro option "Save Beatmapper information with file" option on the Bearmapper's final screen (see at bottom), but it returns absolutely nothing. There very little info out there. I did find that other DAWs offer options where the info is saved within the metadata, which would be nice if Acid had that option.

You're probably gonna ask "why" ... after recording thousands of vinyl records, ripping another thousand in CDs, Napster, and then 20+ years of downloading, I have a lot of mp3's. So, a manual solution of typing the BPM in the filename is not what I'm looking for. Finding tracks for a project using BPM has always been tedious, so now that Windows reads metadata, I'd like to use the stored BPM data if possible... I'd like to do a batch copy&paste of all the BPMs to an attribute that Windows explorer can read, search, and sort. I did something similar to all my jpegs, so I'm looking to do this for my music collection.

Comments

SP. wrote on 12/29/2021, 10:01 PM

@Stoli You can create ACID metadata with Sound Forge Pro.

Stoli wrote on 12/30/2021, 9:15 AM