Sound Forge - No 'Save Selection As' Option?

GhostTrain wrote on 5/18/2021, 10:31 PM

Hello,

I've been using CoolEdit Pro 2 since about 2001 (yes it still runs on Windows 10).  Its much faster and more efficient than  Adobe Audition (what it became).  I really dislike Adobe's subscription only business model and try to completely steer clear of them.  

Recently I picked up Sound Forge 13 and the first thing I checked for, and spent 20 minutes searching for, is the basic bread and butter feature audio editing apps should all have: "Save Selection..."
I'm wondering why it does not exist in Sound Forge and/or, if it does exist, why is it so hard to find.  I had no luck in documentation or Google searching.  Its like claiming to make the best pizzas but not including cheese.

How it works:
- User click & drag to select a portion of audio
- User can then use a shortcut (hopefully customizable) or go to File > 'Save Selection...' to save the current selection
(no need to set regions or jump through hoops.)

Additionally:
- Sound Forge would remember where the files were saved so the user can quickly select and save additional selections
- "Save Selection..." Icon that can be added to the toolbar

Without this basic feature Sound Forge is not a great choice for me as an audio editor/music maker.  I need to be able to work fast when I have hundreds of clips I need to manually edit and save from a larger one.  CoolEdit still does this painlessly, but I don't know how much longer it will be compatible with OS's.  Goldwave is surprisingly good as well but it has sort of cumbersome (but not bad) selection funkiness to get used to. It can Save Selection but its not quick.