Sound Forge Issue + Potential to run SF on new M1 Mac Mini

Marcin-Nowak wrote on 4/5/2021, 8:32 PM

Hello,

Two part question/recommendation. I'm a consultant working with a broadcast client who uses Sound Forge 9 on an older PC. Every few months my client calls me with an emergency. She needs to record her show, but SF seams to not be working as it was before. Recently I logged in remotely into her system and manged to get her Windows audio device settings and SF back up. The one thing I couldn't figure out how to get back to normal is her ability to record multiple takes. For example, she would launch SF9, when we would arm a track it would record just fine. Then we would stop the recording, and create a new one. At that point SF would not arm the next track/take. If we restart SF, it would arm and record as expected. This work for a good deal of time and now does not. I tried all the settings in the record window, and none made a difference. Looked in the general settings and there was nothing there that made me think it was a global setting. Pardon my ignorance on this. I'm not a SF user. Is there a setting to check to resolve this issue?

Now here's the second part of the question. The client is interested in upgrading SF and her computer. I generally work with Macs in audio workflows. I understand the latest version of SF is supported on Mac. A Mac Mini would be ideal for budget and form factor purposes. The only problem is most of the new Mac Mini's are on the M1 chip. Has anyone had any experience with SF + M1 Mac on Big Sur? Not finding any official statement about compatibility on this topic.

Thanks in advance,

MN

Comments

SP. wrote on 4/6/2021, 2:25 AM