Plugins causing .frg files to crash at load?

Damon-Mirate wrote on 10/12/2021, 2:50 PM

I am brand new to Sound Forge, purchasing pro 15 yesterday. I am running into a problem - When I save a .frg file that has a plug-in chain consisting of Fabfilter Pro-G, Pro-Q3, Pro C2 and Soundradix PowerAire audio leveler, the file hangs at load. It never finishes loading up, and eventually, the file crashes the program after waiting a couple of minutes.

This happened yesterday with a file I had just started working on - which I attributed to "maybe I screwed up." So I started that file over again today and ran into the exact same problem.

I was at least able to recover my recording by loading SF back up with no file loaded is no problem, and eliminating the VST folders so those plugins would not load, allowing me to export it and process it in Reaper.

A few notes, in case it matters:

• I never clicked "Apply Plugin Chain" so none of the audio renders were final.
  • Also, when I saved both of these files prior to closing the software (with the chain intact), they took a VERY long time to save. I was concerned it would crash (but it eventually did save).
  • All of the above plugins are VST3 64. Also, in case it matters, none of the above give me any issues in Reaper, Ableton, or Cubase.

Comments

rraud wrote on 10/12/2021, 4:16 PM

I personally do not have any of those plug-in to duplicate the issue.

• Are your working on a lossy format media file (MP3, AAC, FLAC, ect) ?
  • Does the plug-in chain preview and process normally in the destructive edit mode? (Fx Favorites> Apply Plug-in Chain)
  • Can you identify a specific plug-in that may be causing the issue? Try removing plug-ins one-at-a-time to find a possible offender? (process of elimination)
  • Does changing the order of the plug-ins make a difference?
  • Do other Fx chains without FabFilter and your others have the same issue?

no issues in Reaper, Ableton, or Cubase.