Need help! Where should I start? Magix Pro X4!

christianmcolon wrote on 1/18/2013, 12:21 AM

I am brand new to Magix Pro X4    Where do I start?  Should I read the manual or look at tutorials online....or what?  Seems quite overwhelming at this point.  I am tempted to forget Magix and try Pinnacle Studio Ultimate 16, but I know Magix is much better.  Any sugguestions for me?  Thank You so Much!!!!!!!!

-Christian

Comments

cpc000cpc wrote on 1/18/2013, 1:00 AM

Christian,

All of the above, but most importantly learn by doing!

Rule #1 Fear Not: MEP and VPX are 'non-destructive' editors -- cut, chop, change color, crop, stretch, delete (from the timeline, not the media pool!) -- and nothing has happened to your original material. The project you save (a .MVP file) is a set of instructions like 'use the first 30 seconds of clip A, cross fade it over 10 seconds with a blue shifted left half of image B' and then do some fancy transition to the last minute of clip C'.

Rule#2 Learn the Timelines: Have a play! Drag objects (video, still images, audio files) onto several tracks and hit the play button under the preview screen [Space bar] shortcut.You'll soon realize that images are seen up from the bottom -- the lower (higher number) track material is displayed in front of what's above. \

Rule #3 WoW: Select an object and experiment with things under the 'Effects' tab like 'Video effects' >> 'Distortion' or 'Movement effects >> 'Rotation/mirror'. See what overlapping objects (drag one across another) does...

Rule #4 Admire Your Work: ASAP check out 'File' >>' Export movie' >> Video as (format of your choice)...' and see what you've done so far. Default settings will be OK for now. Note that you can set a range to test rather than the whole project.

Rule#5 There are no Rules!