Creating Custom Settings

Jeria-Backstrom wrote on 6/30/2021, 10:30 AM

I'm using Sound Forge 12.1 64-bit on a Windows 10 laptop to manage existing wav files for my IVR system. I need to be able to save altered files with the following parameters:

Audio Format: CCITT u-Law

Audio rate: 8

Audio bit rate: 64 kbps

Audio bit depth: 16 bit

Channel: mono

Previous versions contained these parameters and I had no issues. Now this version only allows me to set these parameters as .raw format not .wav. If I set the bit rate with one of the options available as a .wav file it results in grabbled, unintelligible and high pitch recordings.

I understand that I could just save the file once I've made changes, however to adhere to change management I need to save the file with a change date.

Can anyone advise me as I'm not an audio expert.

Thanks.

Comments

rraud wrote on 6/30/2021, 5:56 PM

Sorry @Jeria-Backstrom, I am not familiar with that type of work. Is there a specific codec, or does it write PCM audio with a different extension and metadata? A bit rate parameter would indicate it's not PCM audio. Exactly what options did the legacy SF versions have that SF-15 does not.
In any case, I think you should just request Magix Sound Forge Tech Support .. unless other users have knowledge of this issue.

Jeria-Backstrom wrote on 6/30/2021, 7:10 PM

Cisco Unified Call Center Express G711

Rednroll wrote on 7/1/2021, 12:56 AM

I'm unfamiliar with and never used that format in SF. However, you did mention you used that format on previous versions of SF. Any chance you still have those versions available and could install them?

Where I'm going with this is that all the audio codecs which Sound Forge uses are typically stored in a folder named "FileIO Plug-Ins" under your Sound Forge install directory.