4 Channels at same time

JoaoBC wrote on 3/12/2021, 8:57 PM

Hi guys, all the best for you. I live in Brazil, we do not have product promotion as it should be. I'm a hobbyist, not a professional. I need a technical help. The sound forge 12, 13, 14, 15, allows multi-track manipulation. But all the sound cards I know, have only 2 input tracks (stereo - left and right channels) and sometimes, 7 output channels. If someone wants to record a band, a musical ensemble, with 4 microphones (for example), they need to use a mixer that takes the sound and divides it between two channels. Do you know any board or device that makes the sound forge capture these 4 channels (tracks) separately? without turning into 2 (left + right)? Thus, you could apply the effect (echo, de-hiss) to each microphone separately, but have the 4 synchronized. If so, can you please say name (brand) and model? And, if possible, device / card link? Thank you very much.

Comments

SP. wrote on 3/13/2021, 4:09 AM

@JoaoBC I don't know what is available in Brazil but if you search for "audio interface with 4 inputs" on Google you should get dozens of devices by all different kinds of manufactures.

You could also search the website thomann.de for interfaces. They are the biggest music and audio equipment seller in Europe and you can find nearly everything music related there. After that you would need to check if some local seller in your country has the items you are interested in if you don't want/ cannot import.

emmrecs wrote on 3/13/2021, 4:47 AM

@JoaoBC

Sound Forge is a multi-channel software but is not multitrack software!

To be able to record four inputs to four separate tracks you need multitrack software, sorry. Even if you buy an audio interface which can output four individual tracks, SF will not be able to record them as four individual tracks.

Jeff
Forum Moderator