Web designer source code not being optimise ?

Adi-W wrote on 12/26/2018, 3:30 PM

Hi, I am looking to get Web Designer Premium, as I have no much coding experience. However, I have come through this comment from a user/develloper who did bought Web Designer : "if you view the source code you will notice that it is littered with <div>'s, the classes/id's are completely unorganized, functions that should be in separate files are not, etc. Case in point, it is an extremely cluttered and non-optimized generator".

Anybody having a little bit of coding experience could make a comment about that ? how much non-optimised code could affect the speed of a web site ? And is there any software that can be use to optimise the code of a web page ?

Thanks !

Comments

johnebaker wrote on 12/26/2018, 4:49 PM

@Adi-W

Hi

Modern websites do contain a lot if <div>'s - the current HTML specifications have deprecated older methods of controlling page layout and are also more strict on the use of tables, which were often used incorrectly, to control layout.

The use of the <Div> element enables greater control over content layout and isolation and as they contain the website content it would be pointless, and frustrating to edit, if they were in separate files to also be downloaded by the web browser in addition to those it already has to download to make jQuery work.

You will also find that the generated websites are reliant on jQuery for many functions eg photo galleries, so much so that jQuery has become an 'almost de facto' standard component for many website builders and software like Web Designer.

. . . . how much non-optimised code could affect the speed of a web site ? . . .