pre-recording devices

jksonsmith wrote on 10/11/2008, 4:44 AM

Justin, thanks for the info.  I tried what you said and everything is working fine now although I though I did the same thing last week.

I am a little confused on your comment about the sound card.  I am new to this and do not know anything about pre-recording devices.  I write and record my own music so would like to have good equipment.  I know you are not supposed to indorse a particular product but could you give me a few examples of pre-recording devices and/pr where I may go to check them out.

Thanks again for you help.

Comments

NoTurning wrote on 10/11/2008, 11:20 AM
Hi again,
First let me say that endorsing specific products is not a problem. I've been told by Magix directly that this is for music discussion not just Magix products.

That being said let me offer three suggestions for recording interfaces - if I wrote pre-recording than it was a typo ^_^ I probably meant pro recording.

I'll add that Magix products are good for basic recording or making songs from samples... for more serious recording I have Protools and Cubase and some interfaces revolve around those products.

My first suggestion for recording is a DIGI001; this is a Protools only interface and will not work with Magix. It is however a professional studio grade interface using the industry standard Protools software. Even though this is an older interface it will still work well for the home recordists. It has a PCI interface and can be had on eBay for around $200. This is a fantastic studio interface with plenty of inputs and features; this is still in use by many studios today. If you want a professional recording and many inputs to record with; this is the one.