Main pages vs Mobile pages : Web Designer Premium 17, using Windows 10

Dennis-Bell wrote on 10/30/2020, 10:14 PM

I am editing an existing Xara created site. If I make changes on the Main Page interface, shouldn't they show up on the Mobile Page interface? (They are not showing up!)

I am aware that layouts would not be the same-- but I thought changes in text or in link destinations ought to show up...

Can I delete all the Mobile pages, then do my editing on the Main pages, then generate new Mobile pages from the changed Main pages. Seems like that ought to work-- but am I just dreaming? Please help--I am new to Xara. Thanks in advance

Comments

johnebaker wrote on 10/31/2020, 8:04 AM

@Dennis-Bell

Hi

. . . . Can I delete all the Mobile pages, then do my editing on the Main pages, then generate new Mobile pages from the changed Main pages. Seems like that ought to work-- but am I just dreaming? . . . .

Assuming you have not disconnected the mobile pages from the main pages then they should update automatically, however i have seen instances where this is not immediate, usually after saving and closing the project and Web Designer they appear. There should be no difference when you publish the site.

You can check this by Exporting the site to a folder on your computer and view this in your web browser

The only difference between the mobile pages and the main is the styling. The web browser detects what the device being viewed on is and adjusts the display accordingly according to the scripts that are in the header of the web page.

However :-

• if you are using Safari to view the site it does have issues with jQuery, which controls the web site functionality, and can give odd display results.

• Occasionally, and this appears to be happening more regularly with the current web browsers, the browser file cache needs clearing or a forced page reload is necessary.