Will files from Sony Acid Music Studio 7 work on Acid Music Studio 11

alan-b7280 wrote on 3/9/2021, 10:48 PM

I've Sony Acid Music Studio 7, which I've been using since 2005. Win 10 upgrades have made it difficult and cumbersome to use. If I buy Acid Music Studio 11, will I be able to use my old files? That is, both the wavs and the * sfk. I've made numerous edits on my individual waves, and I don't want to lose all my work (about 100 songs). Will I be able to open my old *.acd files and just USE them, without have to re-do all the editing all over again?

Comments

emmrecs wrote on 3/10/2021, 4:35 AM

@alan-b7280

Why not download the free trial of Acid Music Studio 11 from this page and test it out? You do need to be aware that Magix trial versions are always in some way limited when compared with the purchased versions, but it might at least give you some idea of the feasibility of what you are asking.

Jeff
Forum Moderator

Win 10 Pro 64 bit, Intel i7 Quad Core 6700K @ 4GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1660TI and Intel HD530 Graphics, MOTU 8-Pre f/w audio interface, VPX, MEP, Music Maker, PhotoStory Deluxe, Photo Manager Deluxe, Xara 3D Maker 7, Reaper, Adobe Audition 3, CS6 and CC, 2 x Canon HG10 cameras, 1 x Canon EOS 600D, Akaso EK7000 Pro Action Cam

alan-b7280 wrote on 3/10/2021, 9:29 AM

Thanks for that fast response.  Price is not my concern, free or a few hundred dollars . . .

I'm concerned about installing any new music software on the same computer as my old music software. 

Acid Music Studio 11 is eight years and several versions more recent.  I could discover that the  "New and improved" features have invalidated my previous thousand hours of work: just incompatible.  But - by then - my old software has been written over!

Over the years, this has already happened with a lot of my previous work in other fields, with other types of software.  I

Let me give you the background. It's a long story, but interesting.