when are any improvements applied when cleaning? Cleaning Lab 3

Dave-Williams9210 wrote on 10/21/2021, 8:06 AM

I'm new to this programme and whilst I understand (most of) the actual cleaning process, I don't understand when any of the filtering etc. is applied to the track(s), so excuse me if it's a dumb question. My reason for saying this is that even though I run any of the filters and they work whith before or after caparisons, the actual track doesn't appear to change until it's save. I would have expected an "apply changes now" or similar function, so the same bit of material can be worked on again.

Comments

browj2 wrote on 10/21/2021, 9:15 AM

@Dave-Williams9210

Hi,

SFACL is a non-destructive audio editor and is Project-based, so any changes that you make and any effects that you add are live and can still removed or edited within the project. You can save the Project and continue working on it in another session. No changes are permanent in the Project (for the most part). When you Export, you get a rendered version. You can always start a new project with the rendered file and work on that, but you will not be able to undo or change any of the effects that you made in the other project, unless you reopen the original Project.

SFACL uses the original audio file(s) so do not overwrite it. Always export to a new filename.

I would have expected an "apply changes now" or similar function, so the same bit of material can be worked on again.

As I pointed out, there is no need. You apply effects as needed. Do some noise reduction. Apply some compression and some reverb. Apply more effects. Adjust the volume along the object. They are all there and done together. You don't apply one effect, then render, then apply another effect. They all work together.

Note that you can have effects applied to an object and/or a track.

John CB

Last changed by browj2 on 10/21/2021, 9:22 AM, changed a total of 1 times.

John C.B.