Way Over priced

Lawrent-Fournier wrote on 4/19/2022, 5:08 PM

I just purchased a small mixer wirth a USB out to use with Samplitude. The mixer came with free software for a program called Audacity. Sorry Magix, but I just discovered something far easier to use and with exceptionally good quality. In many cases, the FX stuff make is significantly superior to yours. By the way, I am a guitar/music teacher that creates play along music for my students to practice with. I use a windows 10  and an HP Core 15 computer. 

Comments

Eric-Weik wrote on 4/20/2022, 6:53 AM

I have used both for years, since early 2000s, I prefer ACL, layout is better, and it is faster than Audacity. But each is own...

Graham-Hawker wrote on 4/20/2022, 6:59 AM

The mixer came with free software for a program called Audacity.computer. 

I don't think comparing Audacity to Samplitude is a reasonable comparison. One is an audio recorder and one is a DAW (which includes audio recording). A more sensible comparison would be Audacity and Sound Forge. The last audio project i did I used both. Audacity was better for some things and Sound Forge for others. Many programs have very good open source competitors. But some people still pay for Microsoft Office or ArcGIS.

browj2 wrote on 4/20/2022, 9:57 AM

@Lawrent-Fournier

Hi,

Audacity does not live in the same world as Samplitude Pro X. If all you need is a simple recorder and editor, Audacity is fine. Beyond that, forget it.