VST plugin as real time effect

Carl-Curry wrote on 3/1/2024, 11:01 AM

I want to use a VST plugin in Sound Forge in real time which my DAW applies in the output bus effects bin.
Some context. I don't have the luxury of an acoustically treated room so I typically have to mix in headphones. To improve the end results I will use Slate VSX (room emulator plugin) to get references for various accoustic environments. The plugin lets me simulate various listening environments in real time playback. In my DAW I just apply the VSX VST to the master bus or sidechain it to a dedicated bus. In Sound Forge the only way I've seen to use the VSX plugin is as an applied effect. Using preview in the plugin dialog doesn't allow me to go right to the portion of a file I want to check/focus on and test the multiple room treatments available in the plugin.
Yes, I could just master everything in the DAW, but I've been doing it in Sound Forge for a couple decades and like the direct workflow that I've gotten used to.
This will apply to Sound Forge 17.
Any input appreciated.

Comments

rraud wrote on 3/2/2024, 11:26 AM

Welcome to the Magix Sound Forge users community @Carl-Curry.
Put the room emulator plug-in last in a plug-in chain. It would be easier to use the timeline chainer mode instead of the (temporary) "Apply plug-in chain" in FX Plug-ins.

Carl-Curry wrote on 3/3/2024, 7:29 AM

Excellent. Thanks for that. I was searching the manual for effects bin, realtime, etc.. Plug-in chain it is for Sound Forge.
Now I just need to figure out why Sound Forge can't use the VSX plugin properly (64-bit VST3, works fine elsewhere). Ah, the joy of software 😒

rraud wrote on 3/3/2024, 9:20 AM