Sound Forge Scripting - Efficient Cassette Tape Archiving

Dan-Hicks wrote on 6/20/2024, 1:40 PM

Hi, I have zero experience with scripting. I'm wondering if this is possible with Sound Forge scripting, and if so, is anyone willing to create such a script for me?

Here's what I need. I'm working on a large cassette tape archiving project, and for the sake of efficiency, I'm using a 4-track cassette deck in double speed mode. By recording all four tracks at double speed, I can record each tape in 1/4 the amount of time it'd normally take. I know this isn't best for quality purposes, but for this project, it's sufficient.

Once each tape is recorded into a quad wav file, I need to:

1. Halve the sampling rate

2. Reverse channels 3&4 (ie side B of the tape)

3. Swap channels 3&4 (ie left-right stereo swap)

4. Convert the quad wav to a stereo wav, with channels 1&2 first (side A), followed by channels 3&4 (side B)

It'd speed up my workflow if I could batch process my quad wav files with a script rather than do all these steps manually for each file. Is it possible?

Thanks!

Comments

SP. wrote on 6/20/2024, 5:21 PM

@Dan-Hicks Yes, for example, these are the methods to do this. Open one of your quad files in Sound Forge, then simply copy and paste the code into the script editor, compile and run it. If this works as you intend it, then we can modify it to batch load files from a directory.

using System;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using SoundForge;

public class EntryPoint {
public void Begin(IScriptableApp app) {

ISfFileHost quadaudio = app.CurrentFile;

//set sample rate to 48000Hz without resampling
   quadaudio.DoResample(48000, -1, EffectOptions.EffectOnly);

//reverse channels 3 and 4
   quadaudio.DoEffect("Process.Reverse", "", new SfAudioSelection(0, quadaudio.Length, 12), EffectOptions.EffectOnly);

//call a channel converter preset that swaps channels 3 and 4