Sound Forge Pro 11 not detecting iZotope plugin

Damon-Lynch wrote on 3/21/2021, 3:59 PM

Hi everyone, this is my first post here and I'm somewhat new to plenty of things audio related. 😃

I own the PC version of Sound Forge Pro 11. I've updated it to the latest Magix version (build 345). It doesn't recognize a trial version of  iZotope Nectar 3 Plus. Is that because Sound Forge Pro 11 is simply too old, or because I should have instructed the iZotope Nectar 3 Plus installer to do something other than its default setup procedure?

Thanks.

Comments

condex wrote on 3/21/2021, 7:05 PM

Third party plugins usually don't automatically get identified by Sound Forge Pro (SFP); consequently, it is necessary to point SFP to the folder/s where the plugins are stored on the C drive. To do this in SFP, select Options/Preferences/VST Effects (tab). There, you should find 2 empty search fields. Use one of them to locate and select C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg. SFP will then load all the vst plugins in that folder and its subfolders. This is the folder to which iZotope plugins usually install; however, if they are not there, have a look under C:|Program Files (x86)\VSTPlugins.

The above will load the 32 bits vst plugins. The 64 bits vst plugins can be found in C:\Program Files\Steinberg and/or C:\Program Files\VSTPlugins, but I cannot recall if SFP 11 works with 64 bits vst plugins.

Once loaded into SFP, the plugins can be found by selecting FX Favorites and then Organize.

Damon-Lynch wrote on 3/21/2021, 8:03 PM

Thank you. I hadn't thought about the possibility that new iZotope plugins are 64-bit only and Sound Forge Pro 11 is 32 bit only — which is the case. So SFP 11 is just too old.

It's a little surprising to me that SFP 15 comes with two basic iZotope plugins but iZotope does not return the favor by listing SPF as an officially supported host.

rraud wrote on 3/22/2021, 11:21 AM