Some questions from a confused & overwhelmed newbie.

DarkForge wrote on 8/21/2020, 5:55 AM

Greetings all. So first off I'll start by saying that I have never used any Magix Music Maker program before, so am pretty much flying blind. I have tried to do a bit of research here and searched a few things before making this post, but still couldn't really find much that was explaining the things I wanted to know, so if I'm still asking anything that should be extremely obvious I do sincerely apologise and please bear with me...

So I have zero musical talent! In my younger years I loved playing around with the various "eJay" programs and putting together some tunes using the pre-recorded samples they gave you - it was never going to be top-quality stuff you could take seriously but I didn't care about any of that, I just liked having fun with them. Well the COVID lockdown left me with a lot of free time on my hands and so I actually fired up the old eJays again, even going on Ebay to finally grab the ones I was still missing. And you know what? I'm still having fun with them!

So this gives you the basic idea of what I'm looking to do with Magix Music Maker. Not overly fussed on the more advanced features. Just in a similar manner to eJay: try out the included samples, throw some together and see what comes out as the end result.

I've been aware of Magix for a little while since I was looking for something which could possibly create rock music, a genre which eJay never did much of (it was heavily requested for a long time and they finally announced a rock program, but then went into liquidation shortly after and said program sadly never got released! 😢). My search for a "Rock eJay" equivalent led me to find out about "Music Maker Rock Edition 4" and from there onto the new Music Maker as you know it today.