SF17 "...no recording device exists,... cannot...open"

TheGDog wrote on 5/23/2024, 2:49 PM

In prior version... I always ended up just having to click upon the "Record what you hear" icon. I experienced similar problems in that version as well.

This machine is just using whatever onboard sound the MoBo has on it. Off the top of my head.. RealTek?

So far I can only find Options>Preferences>Audio>Record tab. But there seems to be nothing in there that deals with or allows manipulation of sampling rate, etc? And picking from among all the choices in the device: dropdown had no effect on the error message.

I'm a Dev, so you can likely just give me very high-level terse direct answers here of things to check on.

Including a screenshot of the Preferences dialog, as I believe that'd be most helpful here.

Thx
-G.

Comments

TheGDog wrote on 5/23/2024, 2:54 PM

Note that on this screen in the OS, clicking upon any of these choices does not enable the "Set Default" button as a possible choice.

SP. wrote on 5/23/2024, 3:43 PM

@TheGDog In the Windows sound settings make a right click on the white area in the recording tab and check if hidden devices are visible. If you can find Stereo Mix und What You Hear there, enable them and restart Sound Forge.

For the other recording inputs you need to connect a cable to them first.

rraud wrote on 5/24/2024, 1:57 PM

"What you hear" was a term used on the old 'Sound Blaster' cards, As SP. stated, RealTek's terminology is "Stereo Mix".
As I have stated in the forum archives, some PCs just cannot throughput the signal from the soundcard. I had two Toshiba laptops that could not, so I needed to use the virtual cable utility software. OTOH, all my Dell PCs (desk and laptop) had no problems recording what you hear.

btw @TheGDog, welcome to the Magix Sound Forge users community.

TheGDog wrote on 5/31/2024, 5:25 PM