Saving mp3 files

Steve-Kinloch wrote on 10/4/2023, 7:27 AM

Hi,

My OS is Windows 10 64 bit and I'm using Sound Forge 10 (build 252) which is 32 bit.

When I'm working on a file and lower the volume to say -1db then save it as a WAV file, when I reload the file into SF the volume is still at -1db.

But if I save the same file as a mp3 and then reload it into SF the volume increases to 0.00db.

Is this a conflict between 64 bit OS and 32 bit software? Everything else I do to the file is OK, it's only the volume that's affected.

Comments

SP. wrote on 10/4/2023, 8:06 AM

@Steve-Kinloch In case you use compressed audio files like mp3 it's recommended to enable Options > Preferences > General> Always proxy compressed formats

Steve-Kinloch wrote on 10/4/2023, 9:27 AM

Hi SP,

Thanks for the reply.

I've been using SF for 20 years and never had to enable proxy compressed formats...but I'll give it a go.

As far as I know it's only been doing this for a few weeks and only affects the volume on mp3's

Edit: enabling proxy compressed formats made no difference.

rraud wrote on 10/4/2023, 10:09 AM

Welcome to the Magix Sound Forge users community @Steve-Kinloch. the MP3 encoding process can increase peaks by a few dBs .... primarily when using a low bit rate. Try encoding the file at a higher bitrate setting like 320kbs CBR (constant bit rate) with the quality parameter set to max. The file will be larger, but no wheres as large as a PCM.

FWIW, 320kps is the max MP3 bitrate.. it can be 'cheated' though by encoding in the MP3 mono mode, The 320kps mono file would have the resolution of 740kps. Naturally, any spacial information would be lost though, so it is limited. The stereo/mono file size would be about the same though. Unfortunately, the Franhofer MP3 encoder in SCS versions of SF, does not have the mono option for bit rates above 128kps as I recall.

Steve-Kinloch wrote on 10/5/2023, 5:01 AM

Hi rraud, Thanks for the reply and the welcome.