Refuses to run

gary-tayman wrote on 7/18/2017, 10:24 PM

Sound forge Pro 11 -- windows 10.  I need help!  I've been using this software for many years, buying every updated version when it comes out.  A couple years ago my wife wanted to use it, so I asked Sony about a multiple-unit license.  I was told they don't mind it being installed on other computers, as long as multiple copies aren't running at the same time.  OK -- fast forward to this week.  My wife came into my shop and asked me how to find the metadata menu.  I told her, view, metadata, summary.  Huh?  So I opened up Sound forge and showed her -- view, metadata, summary.  OK.  A minute later she runs back in, saying her Sound Forge refuses to run!  Gee, did I screw up by opening my Sound Forge?

If I try to open Sound Forge on her laptop, I get a message saying I need to register it.  I try to do this but it won't work.  I uninstalled, reinstalled, and it still refuses.  I reset the registry to an earlier date, this took forever but finally finished.  I went into Sound Forge -- it worked!  But I exited, got a message saying the registry backup has an error, and guess what -- Sound Forge won't work.

Did I just commit an unpardonable sin?  How can I get this fixed?

Comments

rraud wrote on 7/19/2017, 12:18 PM

I would suggest uninstalling SF using a third-party uninstaller, which should remove the old SF reg entries.. a known cause of problems.

The free Revo Uninstaller always worked well in my experience

gary-tayman wrote on 7/19/2017, 2:45 PM

Thanks for your help, but no good.

I downloaded the Revo Pro free 30 day trial, installed it.  Uninstalled Sound Forge.  Then it asked me to check and remove several registry items and other tags.  I selected check all, then delete.  It then asked me to remove associated files.  Check all, delete.