recording directly from bass guitar input

Andy-Rankin wrote on 3/27/2021, 12:04 PM

I am a beginner with recording. I have been trying for a long time now to record bass tracks via usb on samplitude music studio 2020. The video makes it look easy but despite following video I cannot get the system to record. Samplitude assumes a lot of prior knowledge.

I am using a HP laptop with windows 10

I bought the Guitar /USB cable it did not help get a recording track.

I bought the audio interface Behringer UM2 still no luck. How do I get an idiots guide record my bass tracks?

Comments

SP. wrote on 3/27/2021, 4:38 PM

@Andy-Rankin Please make a screenshot of all your audio settings inside the program settings.

Andy-Rankin wrote on 3/28/2021, 7:27 AM
Thanks for taking the time to help

SP. wrote on 3/28/2021, 7:57 AM

@Andy-Rankin Thanks.

Please try some other option.

1. Select Magix Low Latency.
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Click on the wrench icon
  4. Activate all inputs and outputs of your Behringer interface that should be listed there.
  5. Check that the driver outputs and inputs are listed and checked under Audio Devices.
  6. Connect your guitar and headphones/speakers to the Behringer interface
  7. Select a track to record on and make a right click on the record button and check if the input is selected, Stereo or Mono (in your case it is best to change this to Mono) is selected and Audio Record is selected. Then click on Record. The record button symbol now looks pressed and shows a red light.

8. Activate Monitoring if you want to hear your playing from inside the software (in case you use effects). Be sure your Behringer interface has Direct Monitoring switched off in this case (Button on the front). I think you don't need monitoring activated inside the software if you just use your Behringer by having Direct Monitoring enabled and if it is enough for you (without effects). This helps to save some CPU load.
  9. Start recording.