Poor sound quality Acid Music Studio 10

Namedujour wrote on 6/19/2024, 6:57 AM

I'm brand new at this, and feeling my way around. I am trying to record a dulcimer, finger-picked, not strummed, so the music is not very loud. Nevertheless, the playback sound should be audible and consistent, and it isn't.

I'm using a microphone, with volume turned way up, as close to the instrument as I can get it. My voice comes through loud and clear, but the dulcimer tracks are very faint, and sometimes fade out altogether, then come back faintly again. I have put everything on maximum volume. Everything. Nevertheless I would say my voice playback is "medium," not "loud." The dulcimer track ranges from "faint" to "silent."

I rendered it at MP4, and it was awful. MP3 was marginally better, but not usable.

Why does this work with my voice (I can deal with "medium" volume), but not with an instrument? I'm just doing a demo track for a vocalist, and am about to record the dulcimer on my phone instead of Music Studio because the quality, poor as it is, is way better than this. I'll just splice that phone recording track into the audio file because I'm clearly not figuring out this software. Can somebody please help? Thanks

Comments

SP. wrote on 6/19/2024, 7:47 AM

@Namedujour Which microphone are you using? Recording as close as possible to the instrument might not be close enough. Maybe the microphone only picks up sound a short distance directly in front of it and nothing from the sides. Is your voice recorded clear and loud if you record it at the same distance to the microphone as your dulcimer?

GRB wrote on 6/21/2024, 9:06 PM

I'm brand new at this, and feeling my way around. I am trying to record a dulcimer, finger-picked, not strummed, so the music is not very loud. Nevertheless, the playback sound should be audible and consistent, and it isn't.