New artist here. First album, I need help, please!

AdrianV wrote on 3/6/2024, 4:33 AM

Hello,

My name is Adrian and I enjoy creating electronic music.

As I am kind of new to this game, I have looked online at various platforms and tools, to empower me to sell my music. Since I am new to the game, I have no current fanbase. I am also a bit confused as to what would be the best strategy to ensure that I can start selling my music as soon as possible, and also make sure that I will get paid for it. I do not mind paying a percentage from my music, as long as I am making money. Also, I do not mind paying a fee, as long as I am going to pay, ideally no more than 300 EUR in my first year, and, by spending that money, I can ensure that I can make a decent profit.

For now, I do not have any online followers, I do not have any social media fanbase, nothing. I just have a passion for music, a few songs ready for release, and a willingness to invest my time and money into this, so that I can pursue my hobby at a professional level.

I am planning to release maybe 5-6 albums this year and I want to make a living from my music.

I guess, my questions are:

1. If I am going to use an online distribution service, will this bring me any revenue in any way? Or is it not sufficient to generate interest in my music?

2. Is music marketing and promotion something that I need to treat separately?

3. What would be, in your opinion, the best route to take, in order to make sure that, once I distribute my music online, people will actually discover it and listen to it?

Thank you so much! Any help / suggestions would be highly appreciated!

Best regards,

Adrian Voinea.

Comments

SP. wrote on 3/6/2024, 5:03 AM

@AdrianV You will likely not earn any money by releasing your own music online. Streaming services pay pennies and each day so much new releases come out, that nobody will find your albums.

So either do it for fun or try a different business model.