Music Studio - some basic questions

Javolenus wrote on 1/22/2009, 9:12 AM
Hi There,

I've been using Music Studio 12 for a few weeks now. I'm still a novice, still have much to learn. And so I'd like to field a few basic questions. Many thanks in advance for replies. Here goes:

1. Is it worth upgrading to Music Studio 14?
2. What do I need to connect my electro-acoustic guitar to Music Studio? A USB interface? Please advice on how to record real guitars with Music Studio!
3. My MIDI keyboard will not work properly in Music Studio. The only sounds I can make are via the Windows default wave synth, but I cannot play any softsynths. What am I doing wrong? And what is the best way to connect a MIDI keyboard to Music Studio so that I can enter MIDI data and also play VST instruments?
4. What other hardware/software would enhance the quality of my recordings? For example, are external sound cards recommended?
5. Leading on from the previous question, what essential kit do I need to produce high quality recordings on my PC?
6. Any other advice for a beginner?

Again, many thanks!

Comments

mattj wrote on 4/22/2009, 9:23 PM
1)     I don't really know, I have 12 myself, but I set up all the skins like 11 because that's what I learned first and like the best :)

2)     I have a 1/4 inch input on the fron of my computer so HAW HAW HAW! XD  I just plug it straight in the front.  I used to use a 1/4 inch to 1/8 inch converter before I got that card though and just plugged it in the mike input.  Then I used the amp software on 12 and it souded great.

3)   Hmmmmmm.... what kind of inputs do you have on your computer?  midi, or are you using a midi to usb converter or something?  I don't know about those converters!  I have a midi in and a midi out on my computer so it's easy.