Mic not recording in ANY DAW

John-Sawyer wrote on 9/13/2022, 3:32 PM

I have an issue that started after 9-03-2022. I am using SF Audio Studio 14. I have been using Audio Studio since Version 7. I can no longer get my audio from my mic into the DAW, or ANY daw. I don't not know what happened or changed. I took my computer in for service to check the 3.0 USB ports and had the drivers updated. I have been through every Windows 10 Home, 64 bit and SF setting imaginable, to no avail. I am using Windows 10 Home 64 bit, a Universal Audio Apollo Solo USB interface, a high speed HOSA USB connection to my 3.0 USB port. In my Windows 'device manager' I am getting a Triangle ERROR stating that a unknown USB device (device descriptor failed). Everything was working well until Sunday Sept. 4, 2022 when I could no longer record. This is a REAL problem for me as I am a professional voice over actor and need this all to work, for me to work! Help! I am getting playback and mic audio is reaching the computer, tested through Windows "Trouble shoot your mic", and audio shows up. It's like ALL DAW's are blocked form getting my mic audio. -- Jay

Comments

SP. wrote on 9/13/2022, 5:37 PM

@John-Sawyer Did you ever check the Windows privacy settings? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/turn-on-app-permissions-for-your-microphone-in-windows-10-94991183-f69d-b4cf-4679-c98ca45f577a

Windows usually blocks all microphones because hackers recorded people through their webcam. It's possible that this option will change after a Windows update. Then you need to turn on the permissions again.

John-Sawyer wrote on 9/13/2022, 5:55 PM

Thank you SP for your input. Yes, access to the Mic is ON!

SP. wrote on 9/13/2022, 6:03 PM

@John-Sawyer Does the unknown device in the device manager disappear if you unplug your audio interface? This would mean that the computer cannot identify your audio interface correctly. Or it could be another device not relevant to your problem.