Lining up tracks, and playback issues

andrew-pgh wrote on 2/17/2021, 12:40 PM

Good day,

Yesterday I bought a scarlett 4i4 so I could properly record from my keyboard/synth/drum machine and guitar. I had been using headphone out to direct line in in the past. Guitar was recorded on a video camera, then the audio extracted from video and imported to acid 7.

Not the best approach but it seemed to work.

I recorded 2 tracks yesterday, drum track from keyboard. And guitar track. 44 kHz or so, 4 minutes length.

After I lined up the 2 tracks so they started at the same time, I quickly found the two tracks played back out of sync with each other. As if they were being played back at different speeds. The guitar track seemed to be speeding up or slowing down at times.

I pulled my hair for 2 hours (I am very new to DAW and sound interfaces but I am a very quick learner) . I gave up.

This morning I had an idea, I took the audio files that were saved to my hard drive and put them on the solid state C:/drive.

I opened them in acid and made a new project, set the folders to the SSD C: drive. and lined them up.

They played back properly. Wonderful.

This result makes it SEEM to be it is a data transfer issue. That perhaps the hard drive I was using for file storage was too slow to transfer data and playback was suffering timing issues. But then I ask myself... why wouldn't acid 7 be keeping the files IN MEMORY to speed things up?

Is there a setting to force this?

IS my issue really a hard drive data issue, or is it something else?

How do I find out?

Comments

andrew-pgh wrote on 2/17/2021, 12:43 PM

BTW... system = Asus prime X570-P Ryzen 7 3700 CPU 16 gig memory. Scarlett 4i4. Windows 10.

PATIENT-X wrote on 2/17/2021, 1:03 PM

Hello, Welcome

So you record drum from keyboard, guitar audio extracted from video, chance is that they will play out of sync.

I use beatmapper in Acid to have tracks play at same beat, tempo etc.

My samples are stored on HDD.