Keeps Losing License - SF 12.1 Build 170 64 bit

sathyme wrote on 7/15/2021, 2:14 PM

This just started Yesterday - and of course in the middle of trying to save. It says:

An error occurred while creating the media file. There is no license to use this software.

SO THEN - I have to go through all the de-registering steps etc. EVERY TIME. I replicated the problem and it seems when I go from WIFI to Ethernet cable (When I have an important session - I plug an Ethernet cable DIRECTLY into my Laptop - so I won't lose the clients in a Directed Session - Voice Over) it won't allow me to save anything. I even tried to use SF 9 which I STILL have on my laptop - and it just won't let me use that either. AND I have been doing the Ethernet thing for the last 2 years and no problem until now.

This laptop is Win. 7 - Lenovo

I use - not that it matters - Scarlet 2i2

Can anyone help me with this - I can' afford to lose work b/c of this.

Comments

rraud wrote on 7/15/2021, 4:28 PM

Hi @sathyme, I would suspect an OS issue if Sound Forge was OK before..
If that is the case, Windows 10 updates are a frequent cause of many issues, try rolling back to a previous OS build.
Have your tried another audio app, Try Reaper's (full functioning) demo version and/or Audacity, both are free. As an experiment try the the PCs internal soundcard, Scarlet interface issues with SF is not unheard of. Otherwise you can request tech support from Magix btw, it is a bit confusing if you've not submitted a request before,, Link to cheat sheet:

sathyme wrote on 7/15/2021, 6:16 PM