How to take an audio clip and change it's pitch to create a melody?

MrWilliam932 wrote on 2/19/2021, 12:36 PM

SO: Windows 10

Music maker version: 28.0.3.53

So, This is my first time using Music Maker and I was wondering how to create a song (or a melody for that matter) with just one short clip of audio (for example Gabe the dog remixes). Since I don't have the knowledge or vocabulary to find what I need myself, I wanted to tell a human so he/she can understand what I want and hopefully give me an answer.

To later edit the video I'm going to use Vegas Pro 15 (if that's useful for you for some reason).

I guess I have to somehow convert that audio clip into known note, then import it into some MIDI add-on and change it's pitch and speed/duration accordingly to the MIDI key I press.

I already tried Vita Sampler, but It's not what I want, Vita just repeats fragments of audio samples without changing the pitch, more like a drum than a keyboard.

Am I right?

So, The questions are:

1. Can Music Maker do that on It's own?

2. If not, Is there an addon to do that?, which one?

3. Do I need other piece of software?

4. Is any MIDI keyboard ok? (I happen to have a KORG nanoKEY2)

Comments

johnebaker wrote on 2/19/2021, 2:43 PM

@MrWilliam932

Hi

Assuming you have the Plus or Premium version of Music Maker (MMM).

There are several ways of doing this - probably the easiest way is to create a series of audio files with the required pitches as follows:

1. Load the initial recording apply Tempo/Pitch resample effect to adjust to the pitch you require
  2. Trim to length
  3. Export as WAV or MP3 file
  4. Repeat steps 1 to 3 for as many pitches as you need.

You could then import these into MMM as required

or

load these into the Live Pads (Premium version only) and play these using the MIDI keyboard.

HTH

John EB

Last changed by johnebaker on 2/19/2021, 2:46 PM, changed a total of 2 times.