how do i use my korg m50 as a midi controller through music maker 16?

a9mmprophet wrote on 7/20/2011, 11:29 AM

ok, not going to lie, im a noob to all this. been many years since ive been into making music and technology has come a long way. i have a korg m50 and i have it connected through a usb cord from the workstation to my laptop where i have music maker 16 on. i dont see anything like my old music maker as far as the drum machine or synthesizer or any of the software provided work areas in music maker 16. only soundpools seem to be available. i need to know how to access the sounds i have on music maker as i have purchased quite alot of soundpools and control them through my korg m50 and also how to record them once i am able to select and play them. any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks

Comments

bodazaffa111 wrote on 8/1/2011, 5:44 PM

If you do not have one you are going to need a USB cable for 1/4" musician cables.

It is wise that you spend the money now (Like $50 - $100) and get a good one.

Once you have this device - you need a short 1/4" cable and maybe an adapter

that reduces the 1/4" down to 1/8th" you really need to look good at your keyboard

and figure out what you will need. You then simply plug the cable into the USB port

and then the cable from the "Headphones" out on the keyboard.

Now I haven't tried this method but you may also get it to work by without the USB device

by plugging in a cable from the headphones out directly into your PC's Microphone "In" slot.

BODA

Procyon wrote on 8/3/2011, 10:03 PM

bodazaffa111 - It is inappropriate to provide such poor information.  A headphone jack is NOT an appropriate output and a microphone jack is NOT an appropriate input for any such purpose.  Bad advice is no better than no advice.

I asked a9mmprophet to clarify his questions over two weeks ago, and he has not replied.  He is apparently not truly interested in cooperating or getting answers to his questions.