external synth modules connection

Scott-Whyley wrote on 4/14/2021, 9:18 AM

I am trying to trigger some synth modules, I can hear the sound of my modules triggered through my launchkey and am able to record midi note data onto magix however when playing back, this does not trigger my synth module/drum machine etc. sorry if I sound really stupid, I'm just very new to magix. thanks for any help and tips .

Comments

SP. wrote on 4/14/2021, 9:36 AM

@Scott-Whyley Have you selected the correct MIDI output device in the program settings?

Scott-Whyley wrote on 4/14/2021, 9:56 AM

yes that's set for my midi interface, the target chanel is greyed out though, also for some reason I am now unable to play virtual instruments using my midi keyboard. it is in not monitoring sound as such but is showing green midi indicator when a key is pressed.

SP. wrote on 4/14/2021, 10:11 AM

@Scott-Whyley For monitoring sound be sure to set your audio driver to ASIO or else you will not be able to hear something.

Scott-Whyley wrote on 4/14/2021, 10:15 AM

it is already set to ASIO, I can hear sounds but not when played via my keyboard anymore, or the onscreen keyboard

SP. wrote on 4/14/2021, 11:07 AM

@Scott-Whyley After changing the MIDI output? Are input and output the same? I don't know if this will create a MIDI feedback loop but it could be possible,

Scott-Whyley wrote on 4/14/2021, 11:37 AM

no for some reason I have not instruments now, all my virtual synths are showing but there is now no sound from them either

SP. wrote on 4/14/2021, 1:02 PM

@Scott-Whyley Please check that your audio outputs are enabled in case you use Magix Low Lantency as an ASIO driver. I use it on my laptop and have my Realtek audio chipset outputs enabled (speakers/headphones). In your case you need to activate the outputs you want to use for listening to your virtual synths.

Scott-Whyley wrote on 4/15/2021, 7:12 AM