Can't Record Input Audio and Listen to Output Simultaneously

daniel-t wrote on 7/18/2020, 5:27 PM

I'm really sorry in advance. I fear this is a super simple issue, but I'm really new to this. I've been trying to follow tutorials to allow me to record my voice through my Blue Snowball mic. I've downloaded the ASIO4ALL driver, and followed the settings according to tutorials and although the microphone does work, whenever I record audio by setting the Audio playback (under Audio/MIDI > Advanced...) to "Blue Snowball" it cancels all playback through my headphones or speakers, etc..

I need to then go into [Options > Audio/MIDI > Audio Playback > Advanced] once I've recorded any vocals to set it BACK to the correct audio output. I'm obviously doing something tremendously wrong, but if I can only set up one audio device at a time I don't see a novice way around it?

To clarify: Audio playback works when set to my headphones or speakers, and input works when set to my microphone. The issue is I can't seem to do them together. I don't want to have to keep changing them any time I record or change vocals. I'd also like to be able to hear my voice in real-time allowing for speedier edits I'm sure.

Comments

daniel-t wrote on 7/18/2020, 5:33 PM

So I've maybe learned that as my microphone doesn't have a headphone jack this isn't possible at all?

emmrecs wrote on 7/19/2020, 4:32 AM

@daniel-t

Welcome to the Magix user to user forums.

The fact that the USB mic you are using does not include a headphone socket (as some models in the Blue Yeti range do) is most certainly a limiting factor in your situation.