Some of my MPEG-2 videos contain background music that makes the audio hard to hear. Will the Magix Video Sound Cleaning Lab 2014 be able to reduce the music volume and allow audio to be heard better?

mark-r19 schreef op 19.11.2014 om 20:07 uur

I am a novice video editor that uses Videostudio ProX6 to convert my home movies to mpeg-2 files.  Some of my earlier videos contain background music that makes the audio hard to hear.  Will the Magix Video Sound Cleaning Lab 2014 be able to reduce the volume of the background music so that I can better hear the audio on the mpeg-2 file?  (I edit on a Windows 8 desktop computer; not sure of the hardware configuration but it was built to handle video and photo editing functions.  No issues with any slowdowns due to processing/rendering of large video files).Thank you.

Reacties

browj2 schreef op 19.11.2014 om 21:40 uur

Hi Mark and welcome to the community,

Neither Video Sound Cleaning Lab (VSCL)nor any other cleaner will be able to do what you want. The sound is all mixed together and there is no way to separate the 2. You can get rid of hum or a constant frequency noise, clicks, coughs, and other very short and different noise, but not a constant multi-frequency noise. Too bad about having background music; I know this all too well.

If the video had been recorded with 2 microphones in stereo, say one on the camera and one close to people speaking, then you could at least reduce the volume of the offending channel. You can check the sound from the left and right channels in VPX6 just to see if there is a difference.