Serum Crashing ACID Pro 9.0.3

SheedyJaye wrote on 1/25/2020, 11:00 AM

I've been using ACID products for the last 20 years, since they were owned by Sonic Foundry. The messes I've encountered the last few years have been frustrating, but it's starting to become a major problem for me.

I got the paid upgrade from ACID Pro 8.0 to 9.0. Almost immediately upon loading 9.0, I've encountered problems. Most of the answers have been found in these forums, which I'm very grateful for.

I utilize Windows 10 using a 64-bit system. I'm having a problem with certain Soft Synths - namely Serum and Hybrid 3 - crashing the entire system when I try to use them. I literally had one corrupt my file, and had to re-create a song from scratch, losing tons of hours of work. At first, I thought it was the plugin, so I reinstalled that. I thought it was my ACID Pro installation, so I reinstalled that. I even thought it was Windows 10 and took the time to reinstall that as well.

Yet the problem continues. I can have nothing in the song or I can have a blank or one-note MIDI or a full work-in-progress song. It literally doesn't matter. When I switch over to Serum or Hybrid 3, it crashes worse than the Hindenburg.

I really DON'T want to switch DAW's because I've literally been using this one for decades (plural). But it's essential that the problems with things that are supposed to work crashing the application are taken care of.

Comments

MarcoStorm wrote on 1/31/2020, 7:12 AM

Hi @SheedyJaye,

sorry to hear that you have such problems with the current version. I jammed a bit with the Serum and had no problems. So we would be grateful if you could provide more detailled information about your problem. Have you used the latest ACID Pro 9 Verison (9.0.3 (Build 32))? Have you used the 64 Bit VST? Could you tell us what you have done step by step leading to the crash? Also a Test Project which crashes would be useful.

Best regards,

Marco

allen-hernandez wrote on 3/31/2020, 1:49 PM