Navigation / Menu Bar Improvement Suggestion

Gene_S wrote on 11/21/2019, 11:19 AM

Please "follow" this post if you support this idea. Add comments if you see problems or improvements.

The navigation / Menu Bar is not user friendly when the website has child pages (i.e.: tree structure): everything has to be set up manually. I'm trying to drum up support to upgrade / automate the navigation bar. If you only have a few pages, it works well. If you have a lot of pages, it becomes a chore. I'll "only" have about 80 pages on my website, but others on this site have indicated that they have 200 or more. I can't imagine handling setting up and/or making changes on those sites.

My background is programming in numerous languages for factory automation and doesn't include html programming, but I believe the changes would be fairly simple:

1) The root / level-1 pages would be grouped together at the top of the Page Gallery. The groups of child pages would follow the group of root / level-1 pages. (level-1 pages) (Page "X" level-2 pages) (Page "X" level-3 pages) (Page "Y" level-2 pages) (Page "Y" level-3 pages) (Page "Z" level-2 pages) (Page "Z" level-3 pages), etc. No programming changes are required at this point, it's just the user organizing/grouping the pages.

2) In the open space on the bottom of the "Link" tab of the "Web Page Properties" box, 2 items would be added

A) A pull-down box that show the list of all of the pages on the website. If a page has a sub-menu, the user would use this to select the first page of the group to be shown in that sub-menu. A child page can also use this if it has child pages of it's own, allowing one to have as many sub-sub levels as they want (limited by screen space, page name lengths, etc.)