Midi Playback Problem

sjeter1 wrote on 5/29/2009, 6:00 PM
I have been playing with the Magix Music Maker 15 software and I am encountering a playback problem. I am still learning the software so I am hoping it is just a setting issue that I can easily fix.

I can record from my midi keyboard just fine, but when I playback what I record, the software doesn't play back exactly what I just played. Chords are not played together like I originally played them, rhythm is out of sync, etc. I have played with the midi setting within the software and did research online, but I am not able to find a solution.

My keyboard (Casio CPS-80s) has a real-time memory function and so I recorded my song in the keyboard memory at the same time that I recorded it in the software. The software does not play back exactly what I played, but the keyboard does. My guess is that the keyboard is using a different type of recording method than the software.

Has anyone run into this? I am needing to get some recordings over my producer before I hit the studio, but I can't give him a recording that does not accurately portray the way I play my songs.

I am thinking about trying a microphone and doing an audio recording, so that the software is not digitally analyzing every note that I play.  But I prefer not to have to do this, if possible.

Is there a way to be hit record in the software, play my song on my midi keyboard, and have a perfect replication of what I just played?

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Comments

NoTurning wrote on 5/30/2009, 12:27 PM