Getting ripped off by Magix/Xara

Vaughan-Martin wrote on 9/21/2021, 9:28 AM

I can't seem to find any link to ask the Help or Support Centre so posting here in the hopes someone from Magix monitors this.

I have been using Xara since 2004 (Xtreme). I'm on Designer 18 or X or 365 (??? pick a name and stick with it please). I presently have 2 licenses (4 seats) due to the restriction of 2 computers per license. I have copies on a laptop and desktop and have a copy for my kids computers.

In any case, I kept getting an update notification when opening the program. I wasn't sure when my last update service was purchased so was reluctant to update. This morning after getting the same update reminder, I checked my "About Xara" and seen the last update was in Mar 2021 (mistaken that date for the last update service date). I figured that my update service must still be active so I selected to update. To my dismay, when trying to open the program after the update I was asked for a key. I inserted my key and am now unable to open the program.

I need a way to downgrade back to the version I had. I assume I will loose all my customizations after reinstall. I am getting so pissed off with Magix that I am thinking of abandoning the program. First the DRM crap made me purchase a second license and now trying to keep the update subscription strait is causing me frustration. I don't want to pay $100's of dollars annually for minor updates for parts of the software I don't use.

Then trying to get in contact with Magix is like finding a needle in a haystack. You click contact support and are brought to a FAQ page, the FAQ page has a link to contact support but it brings you back to the page that links the FAQ's page... very frustrating. Only an underhanded company gives you no way to contact them. I never did find the needle hence posting here.

I used to love Xara... but the shift to Magix is going to kill the company if others feel like me.