Difficulty Importing Video, No Sound on what I can import

travisty wrote on 8/7/2009, 7:14 PM
Just purchased Magix Movie Edit Pro 15 today and have installed and registered the project.

I am a university student, and I need to make a short (15 minute) compilation of various scenes from 4 different movies for a final project in a class.  I have three of these movies from downloaded sources, and one from a DVD.  One of the movies is a foreign film in .divx format which this program doesn't even recognize as being a valid file type, another is a US film in .avi which it does recognize, but won't load at all.   Another is an .avi file which it recognizes and loads, but then refuses to give me sound, only video.  And the fourth is a DVD which I will have to worry about how to import for the 3-4 scenes I need once I get the other three movies figured out.

I wanna just shoot people for making this so complicated.  I am not a software pirate, I am not trying to do anything harmful, I just need to extract some scenes so I can get a reasonable grade in my University course.   Can anyone help?  I don't know what even to tell you, or what questions to begin with.  I just try to import a file, and it either won't "see" it, or on the file it does recognize, it will give me video but no sound.  This is highly frustrating, and to be honest, I have no desire to become a full fledged expert in video editing, I just want to get this done for my course.

Help.

Comments

siglersmalz wrote on 8/8/2009, 12:23 AM
Hi Travisty,

I understand your problem, unfortunately, movie editing isn't really all that simple and straight forward.  I've had a long history of problems using AVI movies in MEP and I avoid them like the plague.  However, others swear by them.  I believe there are different formats for AVI movies, so (again) it gets complex.