Designer operating substandard

Vaughan-Martin wrote on 3/22/2021, 8:14 AM

I have been using Xara since ~2006 and consider my Xara capabilities Intermediate to professional.
Lately, my current Designer (x17) is acting up significantly. I find when I select the Color Picker, the processing time for any other selected object becomes unacceptable (~10sec freeze after selecting any object). I have to restart the software in order for it work properly. A similar effect is also occurring when selecting the Web Properties or Page properties. The Web or Page properties take about 20sec to load and once loaded, I can't edit or add multiple links as there is a multi-second delay when attempting to select anything with the Web or Page Dialog box active. I need to add my one link, close the dialog box,, select the next object or text and re-open the properties. Very time consuming for no reason. This Web Properties issue has been happening for some time (maybe since x12).

The Web and Page properties slow load occurs all the time and is not solved with a reboot, the color issue is solved with a reboot.

I run a powerful and newer Workstation (Xeon W-2225, 8 processor, 4.1 GHz Core with 64GB EEC RAM). Xara should be lightning speed on my computer, but I find it frustratingly slow and sluggish. I had the very same problems with version x17 on my older workstation computer (which was also very powerful and ran previous versions of Xara with no problem and at lightning speed).

My update service ran out again on Dec 2020. I was updating religiously in the hopes for a fix, but no fix came.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Comments

johnebaker wrote on 3/22/2021, 9:25 AM

@Vaughan-Martin

Hi and welcome to the form

. . . . . I run a powerful and newer Workstation (Xeon W-2225, 8 processor . . . . .

Please note powerful is a meaningless term unless quantified.

. . . . Xeon W-2225, 8 processor, . . . .