AVI editing problem...

sjbirk wrote on 5/7/2009, 9:02 AM
I am new to video editing! I have a flip video recorder that saves the video as .AVI on my computer. So I uploaded my 25 MG video into magix to do some editing. I added a beginning title and end and just a couple other minor details. After exporting my file, it was 955 MG! Why is this so big and how can I compress it without losing the quality? I have tried to export it many different ways and nothing works! Help Please!

Comments

commixv wrote on 5/7/2009, 10:56 AM
Hi :-)

what export settings do you use?

most of the time compressing comes along with loosing qualtiy , that is nature ;-)

What you can try:
xvid codec
lower bitrate (as low as you can accept the loss of quality)
video size (try lower video size)
ralftaro wrote on 5/8/2009, 10:06 AM
Hi,

AVI is a container format an can hold many different types of codecs for the actual video (and audio) encoding. You probably imported material in a reasonably compressed format (e.g. Motion JPEG) and exported to a completely different codec, maybe a lossless one that will result in huge files. If you didn't consciously pick a codec (which you can do in a sub menu of the AVI export dialog), you might have exported to any kind of random, possibly obsolete, codec installed on your system. Believe me, there are a lot of useless codecs out there...

Next issue: I'm afraid losing quality is something that you cannot avoid as long as you're encoding to any kind of lossy, compressed format. There will always be a certain generation loss, even if you're exporting to the very same codec again, unless you can possibly benefit from some kind of smart-encoding strategy, which is typically not available for AVI exports and the codecs you will be using in this context.